
 
Application Instructions for 2015-2017 Certificate Renewal 

Ohio Certified Community Health Worker (CHW)  

DETAILED INSTRUCTIONS: Return the completed and signed application along with fee in the enclosed envelope POSTMARKED ON OR BEFORE 
MARCH 1, 2015 to avoid late fees.  

• Complete the entire application, sign, and send appropriate fee. 
• Incomplete applications will be returned and may be subject to late fees. 

 

FEE SCHEDULE & ACCEPTABLE FORMS OF PAYMENT: Payment must accompany this application to renew. 
• Fees must be made payable to “Treasurer, State of Ohio”.  
• Send a certified check, cashier's check, or money order. 
• Personal checks or cash will NOT be accepted.   
• Business checks from government entities, corporations, and education or training programs will be accepted. 
• Payments must be drawn on a United States (U.S.) bank or payable in U.S. dollars.  Fees are non-refundable.   

 

FEE POSTMARKED: 
• On or before March 1, 2015:  $35 
• Between March 2, 2015 and March 31, 2015:  $85 
• After March 31, 2015:  You must request a reinstatement application. 

INACTIVE STATUS:  If you do not intend to practice as a certified CHW in Ohio, you may request to have your certificate placed on inactive status.     
• Check the “Inactive” box in the first section and return application to the Board.  
• No fee or CE is required 
• Application must be POSTMARKED NO LATER THAN MARCH 31, 2015 or certificate will lapse. 

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE):  
 

First Renewal: 
If you received your first CHW certificate on or after January 1, 2013, this is your first renewal and you do not need to meet the CE requirement for this renewal of 
your CHW. 
 

NOT First Renewal:   
If this is not your first renewal, you are required to complete 15 contact hours of continuing education between April 1, 2013 and March 31, 2015, which includes:    

• One (1) contact hour Category A (directly related to Ohio law & rules). Category A must be approved by an OBN Approver, or offered by an OBN 
approved provider unit headquartered in the state of Ohio.   

• One (1) contact hour must be directly related to establishing and maintaining professional boundaries. 
The remaining thirteen (13) contact hours must be an approved or accredited planned learning activity that builds upon a precertification education program and 
enables a certificate holder to acquire or improve knowledge or skills that promote professional or technical development to enhance the certificate holder’s 
contribution to quality health care and pursuit of professional career goals. 
 

Original Issue Date can be accessed on the Board’s website at www.nursing.ohio.gov by clicking on license/certificate verification and following instructions.    
 

Do NOT send CE documentation to the Board at this time.  You are required to maintain CE documentation for at least six (6) years. 
 

ONE-TIME WAIVER:  If you have never taken your one-time CE waiver, you may do so this renewal. 
 

COMPLIANCE:   Check the appropriate box for EACH question and send required documentation if applicable. 

VERIFICATION:   You must sign this CHW application.   

CHANGE IN SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:  Your social security number is required by state and federal law for purposes of child support enforcement 
(ORC 3123.50, 42 U.S.C. Section 666), reporting to the Federal Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank (42 U.S.C. Sections 1320a-7e(b), 5 U.S.C. Section 
552a, and 45 C.F.R. pt. 61).  It may also be used for reporting to the National Practitioner Data Bank (42 U.S.C. Section 11101 and 45 C.F.R. pt. 60), reporting to 
law enforcement authorities for investigative/law enforcement purposes in compliance with ORC 4723.86, and rules adopted thereunder, and/or as otherwise required 
by state and federal law.     
 

If you have changed or obtained a new Social Security Number, please provide both your old AND new numbers 
 

Old________________________________________     New____________________________________________ 
 

CORRECTIONS & NAME/ADDRESS CHANGE:  Skip this section if you have no changes.  Make changes as applicable.  
You must submit a certified record of a name change (i.e. marriage certificate/abstract, divorce decree/dissolution, court record indicating the name change) within 
thirty days of the change. Certified court documents can be obtained from the court where the original record was filed. Photocopies or notarized copies are not 
acceptable for a name change. 
 
Last Name_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
First, Middle Name________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City_________________________________________________________________State________________________________Zip____________________ 
 
County__________________________________________________Telephone_____________________________________________ 
 
Email_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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Application for 2015-2017 Certificate Renewal  
Ohio Certified Community Health Worker (CHW) 

                                                                                     CHW.  01234 
Name of CHW 
Address of CHW 
City, State, Zip 

 
 

CAREFULLY READ INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION 
 

 
 

❑ 
 

Please make my certificate INACTIVE.  If you check this box, STOP here and mail application to the Board.   
 

 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE):  Check only one box in this section. 
 

 
 

❑ 
 

I met (or will meet by 3/31/2015) the CE requirements to renew this CHW.  
 
 

❑ 
 

I received my 1st CHW in the State of Ohio on or after January 1, 2013 and am not required to complete CE hours for this certification period. 
 
 

❑ 
 

 

I request my one-time waiver from CE requirements, which may never be used again. 

COMPLIANCE:  Answer Yes or No to EACH  question. IMPORTANT READ CAREFULLY.  

☛    The following questions apply SINCE the submission of your last renewal application OR if this is your first renewal from the date your original certification 
application was filed.  Have you been convicted of, found guilty of, pled guilty to, pled no contest to, pled not guilty by reason of insanity to, entered an Alford 
plea, received treatment or intervention in lieu of conviction, or been found eligible for pretrial diversion or a similar program for any of the following crimes? 
This includes crimes that have been expunged if the crime has a direct and substantial relationship to practice as an Ohio certified community health worker.            

         Yes No      ANSWER EACH QUESTION 
1a. 

 

❏  ❏ A felony in Ohio, another state, commonwealth, territory, province, or country? If you answer “Yes”, enter the court and case number.  
Court Name:_______________________________________________________________Case#:____________________________________________ 

1b. 
 

❏  ❏ A misdemeanor in Ohio, another state, commonwealth, territory, province, or country? This does not include traffic violations unless they are DUI/OVI 
or Physical Control While Under the Influence.  If you answer “Yes”, enter the court and case number. 
Court Name:_______________________________________________________________Case#:____________________________________________ 

  2. 
 

❏  ❏ Has any board, bureau, department, agency or other body, including those in Ohio, other than this Board, in any way limited, restricted, suspended, or 
revoked any professional license, certificate, or registration granted to you; placed you on probation, or imposed a fine, censure, or reprimand against 
you? Have you voluntarily surrendered, resigned, or otherwise forfeited any professional license, certificate, or registration? 

3. 
 

❏  ❏ Have you for any reason, been denied an application, issuance, or renewal for licensure, certification, registration, or the privilege of taking an 
examination, in any state (including Ohio), commonwealth, territory, province, or country? 

4. 
 

❏  ❏ Have you entered into an agreement of any kind, whether oral or written, with respect to a professional license, certificate, or registration, in lieu of or in 
order to avoid formal disciplinary action, with any board, bureau, department, agency, or other body, including those in Ohio, other than this Board? 

 5. 
 

❏  ❏ Have you been notified of any current investigation of you, or have you ever been notified of any formal charges, allegations, or complaints filed against 
you by any board, bureau, department, agency, or other body, including those in Ohio, other than this Board, with respect to a professional license, 
certificate, or registration? 

 

6. 
 

❏  ❏ 
 

Have you been found to be a mentally ill person subject to hospitalization by court order, been found to be mentally incompetent by a probate court, or 
been found incompetent to stand trial by a court? 

7. 
 

❏  ❏ Are you required to register, under Ohio law, the law of another state, the U.S., or a foreign country, as a sex offender? 

8. 
 

❏  ❏ Have you been addicted to, dependent on, diagnosed with addiction, dependence or substance abuse disorder related to, or treated for addiction, abuse, 
dependence or substance disorder related to your use of alcohol or any chemical substance; or have you used any drugs that are illegal or were 
prescription drugs used by you without a legal, valid prescription? 

☛  If you answer “Yes” to questions 1, 6, or 7, you are required to provide the Board with a written explanation of the events including the date, county, and state in 
which the events occurred, a certified copy of the indictment or criminal complaint, plea, or journal entry from the appropriate court(s).  A copy of the court docket 
or case summary does not meet this requirement.   

 

☛  If you answer “Yes” to questions 2, 3, 4, 5, or 8, you are required to provide the Board with a written explanation and certified copies of any documents (if 
applicable).   

 

VERIFICATION:   Sign below on the signature line.   

I am a U.S. citizen or lawfully admitted into the U.S. or I am a foreign national not living in the United States.  I verify that all information on this form is true and 
accurate.  I am aware that misrepresentation on this application may result in disciplinary action in accordance with Section 4723.86 ORC, and rules adopted 
thereunder.  
 

   SIGNATURE _____________________________________________________________________________               2015 
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