Address Changes: Managing Your Certificate Online
Begining July 1, 2016 name and address changes must be performed online by accessing the new eLicense 3.0 licensure system. Name changes must also be submitted as a Service Request within eLicense 3.0 and will require submission of additional documentation.
You will be required to register as a new user and create an account profile the first time you attempt tp access your license or certificate information in the new State licensure system. Be sure to click the button "I have a License" when creating your new user account.
We recommend that you download the and review the registration instructions below prior to starting the process.
Click Here for INSTRUCTIONS on Creating a New Account / Registration
Click Here for INSTRUCTIONS on Retrieving your Security Code
** This option will only work if you still have access to the email account currently onfile for you at the Board.
Click Here to Create a New User Account and Manage your License or Certificate Information
Browser Information: It is recommended that you use newer versions of Google Chrome, Safari or Firefox web browsers. Internet Explorer users, must use IE 11 or Edge to access the eLicense 3.0 system.
Continuing Education (CE) Requirements:
You are required to complete 15 contact hours of continuing education during each certification period. For this certification period, contact hours must be obtained between the date your most recent medication aide certificate was issued and April 30, 2014 which include:
- One (1) contact hour Category A (directly related to Ohio law & rules).
(Category A must be approved by an OBN approver, or offered by an OBN approved provider unit headquartered in the state of Ohio).
For a list of approved Category A offerings, CLICK HERE then click “online resources for Ohio law and rules”.
- One (1) contact hour directly related to establishing and maintaining professional boundaries.
- Ten (10) contact hours directly related to medications or medication administration consistent with the function of the certified medication aide.
- The remaining three (3) contact hours must be consistent with the function of a certified medication aide.
Approved offerings covering topics such as pharmacology, patient safety, nursing delegation, professional boundaries, and communication are acceptable.
Do NOT send CE documentation to the Board at this time. You are required to maintain CE documentation for at least (6) years.
- On or before March 1, 2014: $50
- Between March 2, 2014 and April 30, 2014: $100
- After April 30, 2014: You must request a reinstatement application.
- Personal Checks and Cash are NOT accepted.
- Renewal Applications will not be emailed or faxed.
- Fee must accompany the application.
NOTICE: Medication Aide Pilot Program
On March 26, 2009, the Medication Aide Pilot Program ended. On or after that date, any nursing home or residential care facility located in the State of Ohio may utilize one or more medication aides to administer prescription medications to its residents, subject to the following conditions:
1. Each individual used as a medication aide must hold a current, valid medication aide certificate issued by the board under Chapter 4723. Of the revised code;
2. The nursing home or residential care facility shall ensure that the requirements of section 4723.67, ORC are met.
Medication Aide Pilot Program Report (February 2009)
Click Here for Medication Aide Certificate Verification
Training Program Information
PDF Format Download the free Adobe Acrobat Reader to view the PDF documents below.